Community Trophy Round 5: Sparks fly with more winners

The Nürburgring would see a return to DTM machinery, as the 1995 ITC era was the focus for the penultimate round of the 2022 ADAC SimRacingExpo Community Trophy, which saw the Eifel circuit host the last two races before the finale which will take place live from Nuremberg in early December.

Again another 30-plus grid was assembled to go round the Grand Prix circuit at high velocity with sparks very much in abundance, Team Fordzilla’s Emre Cihan would take a dominant pole position for race one, posting a 1:55.486, 0.561 seconds in front of Ballas EsportsIlia Drovossekov. Makozi Racing International’s Kodi Nikola Latkovski would be third, in front of Dörr EsportsBence Bánki and Ballas’ Luciano Witvoet, where the top five were covered by 0.688 seconds.

It was also close between the top ten, with Fordzilla’s Alessandro Ottaviani, Distinct.GG’s Beau Dixon, Maniti Racing’s Nico Söhnel, Alex Mosin from Ballas and Apex Racing Academy Brunei’s Julian Kunze split by just a further 0.459 seconds at the end of qualifying.

The first race would see both Cihan and Drovossekov get the jump on the rest of the field, deciding to initially battle it out for the first race win of the evening, with the Turkish driver able to pull a substantial lead to win by almost 5.3 seconds.

Latkovski was able to hold station and take a well-needed third place less than a second in front of Bánki, with Witvoet and Dixon fighting hard to secure the remaining places in the top six.

There were further close battles a few seconds adrift, as Kunze would hold off Mosin for seventh, as MJR eSportsYannick Mund would pip both the pair of Ottaviani and Söhnel for ninth place.

Race two would see another two drivers move away into the distance very quickly after the start, as RUVIS Racing Team’s Kirill Antonov and Ottaviani opted to get away from the rest of the pack, with the former ending up picking up the win after the 20-minute encounter by only 0.336 seconds. Mosin would be third ahead of race 1 winner Cihan, who also picked up the RIG Fastest Lap Award of the evening by 0.003 seconds.

Dixon would also again make his mark, moving up to fifth at the finish ahead of Witvoet, with the Dutch driver having a steadier pair of races this time around. Söhnel would end up seventh, with Kunze, Drovossekov and Bánki completing the top ten.

Drovossekov continues to lead with 339 points going into the final stages of the Community Trophy, but now only has a 37-point lead over Antonov, with Latkovski third on 287, two ahead of Bánki in fourth and Witvoet a further four adrift in fifth.

We will have a little bit of a wait until the finals of the Community Trophy live at ADAC SimRacing Expo 2022 in early December, but who will emerge as our champion?